Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home // News & Features // Finalists for the second Loewe Craft Prize announced
  • Aneta Regel

Finalists for the second Loewe Craft Prize announced

Shortlist revealed 

The 30 finalists in the running for the second edition of the LOEWE Craft Prize have been announced, whittled down from a staggering 1,900 submissions by makers representing more than 75 countries.

Conceived by LOEWE’s creative director Jonathan Anderson, the €50,000 award aims to acknowledge the importance of craft in today’s culture and recognise makers whose talent, vision and will to innovate set a standard for the future.

From this shortlist, a jury composed of 10 leading figures from the world of craft and design including Ernst Gamperl, winner of the 2017 prize, and our very own Executive Director Rosy Greenlees, will select one winner, with an announcement at the opening of special exhibition at the Design Museum in London on 3 May 2018.

Look out for an interview with Jonathan Anderson in the Mar/Apr 2018 issue of Crafts. 

The finalists are (in alphabetical order, with nationality):

Paul Adie (United Kingdom)
Gunilla Maria Åkesson (Sweden)
ARKO (Japan)
Yeonsoon Chang (Republic of Korea) 
Min Chen (China)
Hae Cho Chung (Republic of Korea)
Steffen Dam (Denmark)
Sam Tho Duong (Germany)
Sara Gackowska (Poland)
Ann van Hoey (Belgium)
Joe Hogan (Ireland)
Marie Janssen (Austria)
Joonyong Kim (Republic of Korea)
Christopher Kurtz (United States)
Takuro Kuwata (Japan)
Jennifer Lee (United Kingdom)
Deirdre McLoughlin (Ireland)
Richard McVetis (United Kingdom)
Simone Pheulpin (France)
Irina Razumovskaya (Russian Federation)
Aneta Regel (United Kingdom)
Ryuhei Sako (Japan)
Rita Soto (Chile)
Laurenz Stockner (Italy)
Wycliffe Stutchbury (United Kingdom)
Mercedes Vicente (Spain)
Julian Watts (United States)
Takeshi Yasuda (United Kingdom)
Ashley YK Yeo (Singapore)
Shohei Yokoyama (Japan)