Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home // News & Features // Jerwood Makers Open 2015
  • Candela (part of London DEsign Festival). Ceramicist Ian McIntyre, designer Felix de Pass, and graphic designer Michael Montgomery. Photo: Ed+Reeve

Jerwood Makers Open 2015

The five artists selected for Jerwood Makers Open 2015 have been announced

Zachary Eastwood-Bloom, Malene Hartmann Rasmussen, Jasleen Kaur, Ian McIntyre and Studio Silo have each been awarded £7,500 to realise their proposals. The projects in the pipeline include a tonne of white porcelain stacked into towering columns, a surreal woodland setting and a trio of marbled plastic busts although we’ll have to wait until July to see the finished work.

The selection panel comprised editor of Crafts magazine Grant Gibson, director of New Designers Isobel Dennis and designer and curator Michael Marriott. The panel commented: ‘Whittling down the finalists from this year’s record number of entries was genuinely tough. In the end the five chosen displayed a high level of technical skill combined with imagination and intellectual adventure. They are all attempting to take their practice in a new direction. 2015’s Jerwood Makers Open promises to be an exhilarating exhibition.’

Jerwood Makers Open 2015 is at Jerwood Space, 7 July 2015 to 30 August 2015


Nightfall, Malene Hartmann Rasmussen. Photo: Sylvain Deleu