Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home // News & Features // The Future is in Our Hands

The Future is in Our Hands

Enthusiastic response to Education Manifesto

Today's launch of Our Future is in the Making: An Education Manifesto for Craft and Making has already prompted enthusiastic support from luminaries from the worlds of craft, design, education, art and business.

The following open letter to the Times was published today, 10 November 2014.


The UK is a world leader in craft, yet craft education is at risk.  This is why we support an Education Manifesto for Craft and Making, being launched at the House of Commons today.

Craft skills generate £3.4bn for the UK economy, with 150,000 people employed in businesses driven by craft skills, in engineering, science, design, architecture, fashion and film.

Making contributes to cognitive development and fosters wellbeing. It develops creativity, inventiveness, and problem-solving.

Between 2007 and 2012 following changes in educational policies, student participation in craft-related GCSEs fell by 25 percent.  In higher education, craft courses fell by 46 percent. This comes when elsewhere around the globe investment in creative education is rising.

We make five calls for change: put craft and making at the heart of education; build more routes into craft careers; bring the entrepreneurial attitude of makers into education; invest in craft skills throughout careers; and promote higher education and artistic and scientific research in craft.

Rosy Greenlees, executive director, Crafts Council 
Professor Geoffrey Crossick, director AHRC Cultural Value Project and Crafts Council Chairman
Kirstie Allsopp, broadcaster
Nigel Carrington, vice-chancellor, University of the Arts London
Edmund de Waal, artist, potter, writer
Peter Lord, creative director, Aardman
Kevin McCloud, author, broadcaster, designer
Grayson Perry, artist
Sir Terence Conran, The Conran Foundation

The full list of signatories:

Kirstie Allsopp, broadcaster    
Diana Beeden-Simpson, The City of Leicester College
Jay & Jade Blades, Out of the Dark
Jo Bloxham, curator, collector and Crafts Council Trustee 
Jean & John Botts    
Professor Andrew Brewerton, Plymouth College of Art 
Alison Britton, Royal College of Art
Professor Bruce Brown, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research, University of Brighton and Crafts Council Trustee 
Jane Bryant, Artswork
Deborah Bull, King's College London
Anthony Burrill, designer
Matthew Burt, furniture maker
Catherine Bush, City and Guilds UK
James Bustard, Director, National Glass Centre at the University of Sunderland
Lesley Butterworth, National Society for Education in Art & Design
Jules Campbell, The Middle East Bureau and Crafts Council Trustee
Nigel Carrington, Vice-Chancellor, University of the Arts London
Jamie Chalmers, Mr X Stitch 
Daniel Charny, Professor of Design, Kingston University
Andrew Christie-Miller, Chairman of Trustees, The Ernest Cook Trust
Sir Terence Conran, The Conran Foundation
Sebastian Conran, Sebastian Conran Associates
Tommaso Corvi-Mora, Corvi-Mora Gallery 
Professor David Crow, Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester School of Art
Edmund de Waal, potter, artist, writer
Pam Dolton, widening participation co-ordinator, Longhill School
Matt Doris, Head of Community Programmes, Etsy.com. 
Professor Linda Drew, Glasgow School of Art and Chair of CHEAD
Julia Rowntree and Duncan Hooson, Clayground Collective
Mark Dunhill, representative board member for the European League of Institutes of the Arts (ELIA), Dean of Academic Programmes, Central Saint Martins and University of the Arts, London. 
Michael Eden, Manchester Institute for Research and Innovation in Art and Design (MIRIAD) and Crafts Council Trustee 
Clare Edwards, National Centre for Craft and Design
Deirdre Figueiredo, Director of Craftspace
Nicholas Ford, The Ernest Cook Trust
Joanna Foster CBE, former Chair, Crafts Council 
Professor Sir Christopher Frayling, writer and broadcaster, former Rector of the RCA 
David Gauntlett, University Of Westminster
Judy Glasman, Dean of School of Creative Arts, University of Hertfordshire
Sir Nicholas Goodison, former Chair, Crafts Council 
Richard Green, The Design & Technology Association (D&T)
Rosy Greenlees, Executive Director, Crafts Council
James Grierson, York Foundation for Conservation & Craftsmanship
Sarah Griffin, curator 
Professor Martin Hall, University of Salford
Lindsey Hall, Real Ideas Organisation
Rupert & Robin Hambro, JO Hambro & Hambro Perks
Barney Hare Duke, British Ceramics Biennial
Andrew Harrison, Spaces that Work Ltd and Crafts Council Trustee
Professor Gavin Henderson, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
Jan Hodges OBE, The Edge Foundation
Professor Dorothy Hogg MBE, jeweller
Jenny Holloway, Fashion Enter
Amy Hughes    
Lisa Jeffery, Hove Park School and Sixth Form Centre
Corinne Julius, design and applied arts critic and Chair Visual Art & Architecture Section - The Critic's Circle
Walter Keeler, ceramicist
Christine Lalumia, Contemporary Applied Arts (CAA)
Celine Larose Vacheron Constantin
Sir Stuart & Lady Lipton    
Billy Lloyd, maker
Fiona Logue, Craft Scotland
Peter Lord CBE, Creative Director, Aardman
Patricia Lovett MBE, Hernewood Studio Calligraphy, Illumination, Heraldry, Design
Professor Bill Lucas, Professor of Learning University of Winchester
Tina Mabey, Madeline Mabey Trust
Kate Malone, Kate Malone Ceramics 
John Mathers, Design Council
Kevin McCloud MBE, author, broadcaster and designer.
Mark Miodownik, Institute of Making, UCL
Steve Moffit, A New Direction
Jennie Moncur, Jennie Moncur Studio
Professor Jeremy Myerson, Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design, Royal College of Art 
Lyanne Nicholl, Queen Elizabeth Scholarship Trust (QEST) 
Peter Nutkins, Headmaster, Humphrey Perkins School
Professor Simon Ofield-Kerr, Vice-Chancellor, University for the Creative Arts
Peter Pearce, West Dean College
Grayson Perry, artist
David Perry, Comino Foundation
Susanne Rauprich, National Council for Voluntary Youth Services
Brigid Rentoul, Crafts Council Trustee
Alison Richmond, The Institute of Conservation (ICON)
Beverley Rider, designer and Crafts Council Trustee
Chris Rowley, Director (and Founder) The Hand Engravers Association of Great Britain 
Julia Rowntree, Clayground Collective
Charles Savage, Craft Central
Ros & John Senior, collectors 
Maggie Simons, Chair of the NFWI Craft Committee
Richard Slee, artist, Professor emeritus, University of the Arts, London
Martin Smith    
Brian & Hana Smouha, collectors 
John & Lady Sorrell, The Sorrell Foundation
Erica Steer, Devon Guild of Craftsmen
Deyan Sudjic, Design Museum
Sean Sutcliffe, Benchmark
Vanessa Swann, Cockpit Arts
Pauline Tambling, CEO, Creative & Cultural Skills and Managing Director, National Skills Academy for Creative & Cultural Skills
Peter Taylor, Director, Goldsmiths’ Centre
Sheila Teague, Wright & Teague 
Dr. Paul Thompson, Rector, Royal College of Art
David Tootill, Southbank Mosaics
Jo Townshend, Rye Studio School
Clare Twomey, artist and Crafts Council Trustee
Patricia van den Akker, The Design Trust 
Tamsin van Essen, artist 
Dagmar Walz, cultural consultant
Leigh Willott, Emma Bridgewater
Robin Wood MBE, Chair, Heritage Crafts Association

Read Next