Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home / Artists


Knyttan is democratising fashion design and manufacture using digital technology

Using our system we can affordably manufacture one-off garments. and we are using this to give everyone the opportunity to design their own knitwear.

The studio has built a system that lets anyone design their own scarfs, jumpers, ties or blankets through a web browser, without needing to be a fashion designer. These designs are turned automatically into the instructions to run an industrial knitting machine, thanks to our patent pending technology. The expertise of our fashion team is hardcoded into each design to ensure that every garment has the correct shape and fit. Every item is made from the finest Italian spun Merino Wool which offers an extremely high quality and finish and is made on the top of the range industrial machines.

Knyttan is launching to the public this November opening a Factory of the Future in the New Wing of Somerset House. Inside visitors can design their own garments and see them being knitted in front of them. Designs from prominent artists, designers and musicians will be available to buy and customise.

Knyttan was founded by Ben Alun-Jones, Kirsty Emery and Hal Watts in early 2013 after meeting whilst studying at the Royal College of Art. They have now been joined by Greg Bakker, former software development lead of d3 Technologies.


Back to Make:Shift


Knyttan will be featuring in Session 3 - Tools

Make:Shift Presenters

Dr Sarat Babu
Julia Bennett
Lauren Bowker
Gerard Briscoe
Mark Burrows
Annabelle Campbell
Mark Champkins
Professor Daniel Charny
Amy Congdon
Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Gina Czarnecki
Boris Debackere
Matt Durran
Lizete Druka
Michael Eden
Gregory Epps
Bronac Ferran
Grant Gibson
Dr Karen Ingham
Michelle Kasprzak
Professor Roger Kneebone
Dr Zoe Laughlin
Professor Julia Lohmann
Martina Margetts
Alex McLean
Tom Metcalfe
Dr Mark Miodownik
Ammar Mirjan
Gareth Neal
Professor Raymond Oliver
Dr Claire Pajaczkowska
Professor Mike Press
Fi Scott
Professor Lucy Di Silvio
Rhian Soloman
Dr Becky Stewart
Dries Verbruggen