Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home / Artists

Mark Burrows

Mark joined Heatherwick Studio in 2007 and quickly established himself as a core part of the team

His responsibilities rapidly grew and he has become a well-respected senior studio member. As a skilled maker he started at the studio to support the production of high end products; however it was clear that his skills, fresh approach and creative vision far outreached the scope of his initial role and he assumed his current prominent position as Head of the ‘Making’ domain.

At present he oversees, advises and guides the ‘Making’ team which is formed of uniquely talented people who respond to any request necessary in the pursuit of excellence in design and ideas.

Mark studied Fine Art Sculpture at Brighton University. After graduating with an honours degree he gained valuable experience assisting various artists in realising their projects, eventually settling into a more stable artistic fabricator role and honing his skills in fine art fabrication, particularly in metals. His discovery of the B of the Bang project inspired him to subsequently join Heatherwick Studio. 

With his educational background and previous work experience Mark has developed his ability to manifest ideas and concepts transferring them into tangible objects. Working at every level and scale, and dealing with the inevitable complexities that come with every scheme, Mark and his team can solve virtually any creative problem.



Mark Burrows will be featuring in Session 1 - Materials

Make:Shift Presenters

Dr Sarat Babu
Julian Bennett
Lauren Bowker
Gerard Briscoe
Mark Burrows
Annabelle Campbell
Mark Champkins
Professor Daniel Charny
Amy Congdon
Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Gina Czarnecki
Boris Debackere
Matt Durran
Lizete Druka
Michael Eden
Gregory Epps
Bronac Ferran
Grant Gibson
Dr Karen Ingham
Michelle Kasprzak
Professor Roger Kneebone
Dr Zoe Laughlin
Professor Julia Lohmann
Martina Margetts
Alex McLean
Tom Metcalfe
Dr Mark Miodownik
Ammar Mirjan
Gareth Neal
Professor Raymond Oliver
Dr Claire Pajaczkowska
Professor Mike Press
Fi Scott
Professor Lucy Di Silvio
Rhian Soloman
Dr Becky Stewart
Dries Verbruggen