Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home / Artists

Martina Margetts

Martina Margetts is Senior Tutor in Critical & Historical Studies at the Royal College of Art, where she has specialised in teaching postgraduate and doctoral research students in the applied arts for over twenty years, and was previously for nine years Editor of Crafts

In this role and in all aspects of her career, she has engaged with the leading edge of creative practice and innovation, nationally and internationally. Writing, curating and working with collections have also been central to her career. Her first curated show was in Japan in 1990 and her latest  - Time Machines: Daniel Weil and the art of design - was acclaimed at the Design Museum this year. During the 1990s she curated the international touring exhibitions The Raw and the Cooked, new work in clay in Britain ( with Alison Britton) ; Objects of Our Time, the UK Crafts Council’s 25th anniversary exhibition, and Only Human, the Crafts Council’s millennium exhibition.

Her books include International Crafts and monographs on the silversmith Michael Rowe and designer Tord Boontje; essays and reviews have been published in journals worldwide and numerous exhibition catalogues, such as The Power of Making (V&A).  She has judged international competitions, including the 2009 International Crafts Biennale in South Korea, and following her first study visit to Brazil she convened the conference Brazil - the Cultural Contemporary at the Royal College of Art in 2011. As an adviser to Arts Council England, the British Council, Crafts Council and the Victoria and Albert Museum and as a former board member of Contemporary Applied Arts and the National Glass Centre, she has worked on the development of public collections and institutional development. She delivered the 2013 Peter Dormer Lecture last December, entitled History in the Making,  which analysed craft practice in our time.


Martina Margetts is a Keynote Speaker on Thursday 20 November 

Make:Shift Presenters

Dr Sarat Babu
Julia Bennett
Lauren Bowker
Gerard Briscoe
Mark Burrows
Annabelle Campbell
Mark Champkins
Professor Daniel Charny
Amy Congdon
Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Gina Czarnecki
Boris Debackere
Matt Durran
Lizete Druka
Michael Eden
Gregory Epps
Bronac Ferran
Grant Gibson
Dr Karen Ingham
Michelle Kasprzak
Professor Roger Kneebone
Dr Zoe Laughlin
Professor Julia Lohmann
Martina Margetts
Alex McLean
Tom Metcalfe
Dr Mark Miodownik
Ammar Mirjan
Gareth Neal
Professor Raymond Oliver
Dr Claire Pajaczkowska
Professor Mike Press
Fi Scott
Professor Lucy Di Silvio
Rhian Soloman
Dr Becky Stewart
Dries Verbruggen