Jump to navigation

Crafts Council

Home / Artists

Professor Raymond Oliver

Prof Raymond Oliver is a chemical engineer with expertise gained through a variety of senior research and technology management posts

Career History

  • Professor, Northumbria University: 2010 – Present
  • Senior Research Fellow Royal College of Art: 2009 – 2010
  • Director, Arrow Science Consulting: 2008: Present
  • Director, Science & Innovation, Cenamps: 2004 – 2007
  • ICI Fellow (Nanoscience and technology ):1995 – 2004

Current Appointments and Affiliations

  • Research Chair, Northumbria University School of Design
  • Director, Design:STEM Integration: ‘Soft’, Responsive, tissue-like material sysytems
  • Fellow Royal Academy of Engineering
  • Fellow Institution of Chemical Engineering
  • Visiting Professor, Royal College of Art (Active and Interactive Materials:(2010-1011)
  • Assessor European Union FW7, DG Research (NMP, ICT)

Other information:

  • Author, 2 books on Granulation and Nanocomposites, 3rd on Programmable & Responsive Materials: the convergence of materials, design and informatics in preparation (Imperial College Press 2016)
  • Book Chapter ‘Bio-Nano Interfaces for Green Chemistry applications (Yale University Press 2015)
  • Co-author, Royal Society /  Royal Academy of Engineering report ‘Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies’-Opportunities & Uncertainties
  • Co-author, royal academy reports on the future of manufacturing systems (2011) and the future of Design(2012)
  • 22 patents
  • Over 100 referred papers, keynote lectures and invited talks
  • Current research interests are electro photo bio active polymers, applications in Ambient Intelligence, portable power, printable light ,  organic printable  sensors and actuators  using conductive polymers, elastomers and stretchable polymer composites.     


Professor Raymond Oliver is a Keynote Speaker on Thursday 20 November 2014

Make:Shift Presenters

Dr Sarat Babu
Julia Bennett
Lauren Bowker
Gerard Briscoe
Mark Burrows
Annabelle Campbell
Mark Champkins
Professor Daniel Charny
Amy Congdon
Professor Geoffrey Crossick
Gina Czarnecki
Boris Debackere
Matt Durran
Lizete Druka
Michael Eden
Gregory Epps
Bronac Ferran
Grant Gibson
Dr Karen Ingham
Michelle Kasprzak
Professor Roger Kneebone
Dr Zoe Laughlin
Professor Julia Lohmann
Martina Margetts
Alex McLean
Tom Metcalfe
Dr Mark Miodownik
Ammar Mirjan
Gareth Neal
Professor Raymond Oliver
Dr Claire Pajaczkowska
Professor Mike Press
Fi Scott
Professor Lucy Di Silvio
Rhian Soloman
Dr Becky Stewart
Dries Verbruggen